FFCA Executive Development Conference Awards

Fire Chief of the Year Award
Nominations accepted February 1 - June 1

Make Your Nomination Today for Fire Chief of the Year!

This award, the most important honor the Florida fire service can bestow upon one of its Chief Fire Executives, was conceived to recognize truly outstanding fire chiefs whose acts and deeds in their profession, home, community, and county, serve as an example and challenge for all other chief fire executives throughout Florida.

To nominate a Chief for this award, any member can nominate another member by completing a summary of why your nominee is deserving of this award.  Please include name, department, phone number, email address, and a current letter of recommendation as outlined.

Selection Criteria
Selection criteria will emphasize leadership, innovation, professional development, integrity, service to the public, and contributions to the fire service as a whole.  All of the nominee's fire service activities and accomplishments will be considered, with special emphasis placed on the period from 2018 through early 2019.  A nominee's command role at a successfully mitigated major emergency incident, while relevant, will not be enough to place that individual in contention for the award.

The Nomination Process
• Complete the Fire Chief of the Year online nomination form.
• Include an executive summary, detailing the highlights of his/her qualifications and contributions to the fire service as a whole.
• Include any other support documents; award citations, newspaper articles, or letters of recommendation from appropriate elected or appointed officials.
• Deadline for submission:  June 1

The Selection Process
• The Fire Chief of the Year Award Committee will review the nomination packages and select the winner.  
• The committee consists of the last three Fire Chief of the Year Award recipients.
• Please be sure to include all documentation.  Failure to do so could disqualify a candidate.

Past Fire Chief Recipients:
Earl Levy (1977); Charles Deal (1978); Don Hickman (1979); Howard Wright (1980); Jim Hancock (1981); Herman Brice (1982);Robert Richardson (1983); Ed Arrants (1984); Gene Reynolds (1985); Ed Donaldson (1986); Jerry Knight (1987); Harold Stinchcomb (1988); Gene Gallo (1989);  Richard Cherry (1990); William Austin (1991); T. L. Siegfried (1992); R. D. Paulison (1993); Jack Alford (1994); Michael Long (1995); Robert Pudney (1996); Herminio Lozenzo (1997); Herman Brice (1998); Thomas A. Harmer (1999); Richard Knoff (2000); Julius Halas, CFO (2001); William Bingham (2002); Terry Schenk (2003); Richard Williams (2004); Barry Baker, CFO (2005); Michael Murphy (2006); William Gulbrandsen (2007); Thomas Weber, CFO, EFO, MPA (2008); Richard Talbert (2009); James Angle (2010); Michael Tucker (2011); Cindy Dick (2012); Kingman Schuldt (2013); James White (2014); Dave Downey (2015); Darell Donatto (2016); Frank Babinec (2017); Julie Downey (2018)

Eligibility Questions
Call 850.900.5180 or email [email protected]