Safety and Health Committee

This committee monitors and analyzes issues related to fire service safety and health including federal and state legislation, national standards and other health and safety related trends as they apply to the Florida fire service.  The committee develops educational and support material for use by the members of the FFCA and the Florida fire service with the goal of increasing firefighter occupational safety and health.

Chairman Frank Babinec, Fire Chief
Coral Springs - Parkland Fire
Mental Wellness
Sub-Committee Chair
Jeremy Hurd, Captain/Chaplain
Palm Beach County Fire Rescue
Mental Wellness
Sub-Committee Co-Chair
Dustin Hawkins
Indian River Fire Rescue
Cancer Sub-Committee
Samuel A. Eaton, Battalion Chief
Palm Beach County Fire Rescue
Cancer Sub-Committee
Vicki Sheppard, Retired Division Chief
Palm Beach County Fire Rescue
Collaborative Chair Christopher Bator, Captain
Coral Springs - Parkland Fire
Collaborative Co-Chair Ryan Gallik, Firefighter/Paramedic
St. Cloud Fire Rescue
Conference Sub-Committee Chair Keith Cartwright, Deputy Fire Chief
Reedy Creek Improvement District
Fire Marshal's Office
Mike Tucker, Bureau Chief / Superintendent
Florida State Fire College
FFCA Board Liaison Gene Prince, EFO, CFO, Fire Chief
Cocoa Fire Department
Division of State Fire Marshal Julius Halas, Director
Division of State Fire Marshal
Immediate Past President
Dan Azzariti, Fire Chief
Plant City Fire Chief
2nd Vice President
Darrel Donatto, Deputy Fire Chief
Town of Palm Beach Fire
Executive Director
Ray Colburn
Florida Fire Chiefs' Association
Member James Angle, Program Director
St. Petersburg College
Fire & Public Safety Training Center
Member Mark Austin, Deputy Fire Chief
Cocoa Beach Fire
Member Sean Baker, D/C
Palm Beach Fire
Member Alvin Barker, Fire Chief
Orange  Park Fire Rescue
Member Russell Beatty, Fire Chief
Walton Fire Rescue
Member Karl Bennett
North Port Fire Rescue
Member Joe Bruni, Training Division Chief
St. Petersburg Fire Rescue
Member Charles Chapman, Investigator
State Fire Marshal's Office
Member Chad Crouse, Lieutenant
Palm Beach State College, St. Lucie Fire
Member Mike D'Angelo, Lieutenant
Boca Grande Fire Department
Member Dean Debose, Assistant Chief
Deltona Fire Rescue
Member Rebecca Desch
Bradenton Fire
Member Julie Downey, Fire Chief
Davie Fire Rescue
Member Frank Ennist, Training Section Supervisor
Florida State Fire College
Member Ralph Everage, Assistant Chief
Crestview Fire
Member Ralph Franklin, Fire Chief
Okeechobee County Fire Rescue
Member Jon Frasher, Division Chief
Tamarac Fire Rescue
Member Patrick Garvey
Brend BoD
Member Martin Giles
Citrus County Fire Rescue
Member Bruce Gillingham, Fire Chief
High Springs Fire Department
Member Mark Goldfeder, Firefighter/Paramedic
Tarpon Springs Fire Rescue
Member Larry Grubbs, State Safety Officer
Florida Forest Service
Member Mark Harper, Assistant Superintendent
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training,
Division of State Fire Marshal
Member Rick Hartzog
Lakeland Fire Rescue
Member Jack Jarrell, Retired
Ormond Beach Fire Rescue
Member Michael Jimenez, Battalion Chief
North Collier Fire Rescue
Member Richard Keith
Tavares Fire
Member Phil Kennedy, Battalion Chief
Seminole County Fire Department
Member Matt Kinley, Assistant Chief
Seminole County Fire Department
Member John Klinefelter
Clearwater Fire Rescue
Member Todd LeDuc, Assistant Chief
Broward Sheriff's Office
Member Jeff Lopez, Division Chief
Tamarac Fire Rescue
Member Jo-Ann Lorber
Fort Lauderdale Fire Rescue
Member TJ Lyon, Government Analyst/SERP ERP Chair
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
Division of State Fire Marshal
Member David McCallister, Program Manager, Fire Science
Daytona State College
Member Wayne McGlothren
Brent BoD
Member Michael McNally, Deputy Fire Chief
Coral Springs - Parkland Fire
Member Joel Medina, Fire Chief
Tequesta Fire Rescue
Member Karl Morgan, Major
Division of Investigative and Forensic Services
Bureau of Fire and Arson Investigations
Member Richard Peters
Wacissa Volunteer Fire Rescue
Member Ed Pidermann, Division Chief
BSO Fire
Member Harold Pool, BoD
Brent BoD
Member Brian Powell, President
IAFF 3080
Member Jovanne Rodriguez, Firefighter/Paramedic
St. Cloud Fire Rescue
Member Susan Schell, Safety Program Manager
State Fire Marshal's Office
Member Todd Seliger, Battalion Chief
Seminole Tribe Fire Rescue
Member Jackie Spence
Osceola County Fire/EMS
Member Joe Steadman, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Fire and Arson
Member Tony Stravino, Fire Chief
Polk County Fire
Member Jeff Strickland, Division Chief
Miami Dade Fire Rescue
Member Lisa Thompson, EMS Chief
St. Cloud Fire Rescue
Member James Trube, Captain
Tequesta Fire Rescue
Member Bert Vergara, Lieutenant
Osceola County Professional Firefighters
Local 3284
Member Bart Walker, Deputy Fire Chief
Marion County Fire Rescue
Member Matt Weinell, Fire Resource Manager
Florida Forest Service
Member John Whalen, Assistant Chief
Coral Springs, Parkland Fire
Member Robbie Whitfield, Fire Chief
Pace Fire Rescue
Member Ron Williams
Lake Tech Fire Academy
Vulnerability Assessment Program
VAP - Vulnerability Assessment Program
VAP Brochure 2015
VAP Overview 2015
 Meeting Minutes
January 17, 2018
 January 26, 2017
 January 20, 2017
February 7, 2017